It started with a box of Couscous


Last week, I was looking through the contents of my closet pantry and I found a box of Couscous. I called out to my daughter that we should look at making something Mediterranean for diner over the weekend. That led to purchasing lamb stew meat, which to my surprise came with bones. That is another story.

This morning I defrosted the lamb in the micro wave and put it into my crock pot to cook the meat off of the bone. I poured a half of a cup of Italian red wine in with the lamb and let it cook on high until the meat fell off, which took about 2-3 hours. Note to self, never buy stew meat with bones.

When I finished separating the lamb from the bones, I discarded the liquid in the crock pot which was very fatty. I put the lamb back into the crock pot, and added a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes, a package of artichoke hearts, a half of a white onion diced, two, two-inch diameter portabella mushrooms, also diced, and a half of a cup of red wine. My daughter added coriander, rosemary, 5 diced cloves of garlic, and salt and pepper to taste. We let the stew cook another 2 hours.

We served the stew with the Couscous to which we added rosemary, garlic powder, and lemon olive oil.

The result was rather tasty and there are left overs for lunches next week. I love when cooking works out well. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under daily living, Food, Summer

One response to “It started with a box of Couscous

  1. Thanks to those of you who liked my post!

Leave a Reply

