Green Fried Tomatoes


Yesterday afternoon, my best friend and I watched Green Fried Tomatoes, and LOVED it.  Somehow the movie completely alluded me when it came out in 1991.  I was reminded of it when a coworker mentioned that the only tomatoes she would eat are green fried tomatoes, so I added it to my movie queue and it arrived just in time for the weekend.  Duly inspired, we ‘googled’ a local restaurant that specializes in down home cooking and discovered that they offered GFT as an appetizer.  We ordered catfish with collards, mashed sweet potatoes, and GFT to go and shared the feast.  What a fun immersion activity.  Now the challenge is what to eat after watching Dr, Zhivago? 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under daily living, Food

Leave a Reply

